University of Tennessee: College of Medicine Chattanooga #ut #medicine


Dr. Shack receives Award
Saturday, June 3, 2017

The Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumnus Award 2017 Presented to R. Bruce Shack, MD, FACS June 3, 2017 Congratulations to our own, R. Bruce Shack, MD, Professor and Dean for the University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga. He was presented the Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumnus Award from the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, his alma mater, as part of its graduation ceremonies on June 3, 2017. Dr. Shack graduated from Midwestern University in Wichita Falls, Texas, and received his medical degree from the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston. He completed a Surgery Internship and his Plastic Surgery Residency at Vanderbilt University Medical Center. Dr. Shack served as Assistant Professor of Plastic Surgery at Johns Hopkins Medical Center and at the University of Maryland School of Medicine, both in Baltimore, before joining the faculty of Vanderbilt University Medical Center in 1982. He was named Chair of the Department of Plastic Surgery at Vanderbilt in 1997, serving almost 20 years in that role before moving to Chattanooga to become Dean for our campus in mid-November 2016. We congratulate Dr. Shack on this milestone achievement and honor.

35th Annual Research Awards
Friday, June 2, 2017

Congratulations to the Winners of the 35th Annual Research Day Awards (June 2, 2017): Research 1st Place and Winner of the Robert C. Coddington, MD, Award for Best Research Presentation – Dr. Sarah Harding (Pediatrics)”Environmental Contamination & Association with Hospital Acquired Infection in a Children’s Hospital” 2nd – Dr. Michael Dumas (Emergency Medicine)”Patient Navigation for Patients Frequently Visiting the Emergency Room” 3rd – Dr. Evon Zoog (Surgery Resident) “A Risk Classification System for Clostridium difficile colitis infections: A retrospective study of patients from January 2003 until November 2010 from a single institution” Case Series 1st – Dr. Nathan Jung (Urology) “Post-Radiation Cystectomy: Outcome and Initial Experience” 2nd – Dr. Chase Kluemper (Orthopaedic Surgery) “Outcomes after Flexor Tenosynovectomy to Treat Recurrent Carpal Tunnel Syndrome” Case Report 1st – Dr. Jason Fogleman (Orthopaedic Surgery) “Primary Tibiotalocalcaneal Arthrodesis for Combined Pilon, Talus, and Calcaneus Fractures Utilizing Lateral Locking Plate and Fibular Strut Autograft” 2nd – Dr. Amit Shah (Pediatrics) “Polysomnogram as a Useful Tool in the Diagnosis of a Rare Congenital Laryngeal Anomaly” 3rd – Dr. Jacob Seales (Orthopaedic Surgery) “Bilateral Patella Stress Fractures in a Collegiate Gymnast” Nineteen presentations were given before an audience on the morning of June 2, 2017, in the Erlanger Probasco Auditorium. Three judges reviewed presentations and selected the awardees: Henry Spratt, Ph.D. Professor, Biology, Geology and Environmental Science, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga Judy E. Tingley, DNP, MPH, RN, AACC, Vice President and Chief Executive Officer, Heart and Lung Institute, Erlanger Health System J. Mack Worthington, MD, FAAFP, Professor and Chair, Department of Family Medicine, University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga Following a dinner at the Walden Club in Downtown Chattanooga, awards were announced and presented by Dr. Robert Fore, Associate Dean and DIO for the University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga, and Jimmy Waldrop, Assistant Professor, Department of Plastic Surgery, and Chair, Scientific Review Committee for the University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga. Stacey Hendricks, CIM, Administrator for the Institutional Review Board for the University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga, and Liz Jones, Executive Assistant to the Dean, planned and coordinated the presentation sessions and awards dinner. 6/2/2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.