California Work Permit, home office work permit.#Home #office #work #permit

BizParentz Foundation

Search Bizparentz

Just Getting Started?

Acting Class Info

Parent as CEO

Child Actor Safety

Resumes

Parent Responsibilities

Baby Biz

The Biz-ness

Voiceovers For Kids

Online Casting

Making Deals

Union Financial Core

Education

Marketing

Broadway for Kids

CARE 2012 Announcement

CARE Awards 2010

CARE Awards 2008

CARE Awards 2006

Special CARE Awardees

Child Performer’s Act

How to Build a Law

Krekorian Act

Filming Incentives

BizFriendz

Resources

Amazon Bookstore

Collectible PIN

Calendar

Actor’s Journey

California law requires that all children working in the industry, birth to age 18 (or high school graduation) must have an Entertainment Work Permit. This permit is a different type of work permit than the one normally issued to working teens by their school. The Entertainment Work Permit is issued by the State of California Department of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE for short). The DLSE issues approximately 50,000 work permits every six months.

In 2008, the DLSE offices began a consolidation of work permits services. The permits are now numbered to identify the child and the computer system is centralized, preventing parents from getting denied at one office and then getting a permit at a different DLSE location. As of 8/09, all Southern California offices were sending the permit applications on the Van Nuys office and parents were instructed to send their permit applications directly to Van Nuys.

UPDATE: California legislation AB1401 established an online process for those needing an immediate permit for the first time applicant. This is called a 10 Day Temporary Entertainment Work Permit. There is a $50.00 fee for this service. Please find information and the application here:

Currently, a pilot program exists for regular Entertainment Work Permit applications and renewals to be submitted online.

If you prefer to obtain an Entertainment Work Permit in the mail, the application and information can be found here:

BizParentz does not recommend using services who charge a fee to obtain a work permit. Why? There is educational value to the work permit process itself. We feel it is important that parents keep their personal information confidential (not sharing personal information with a 3rd party) , learn how to navigate this government gateway to the industry, understand that they are signing a legal document (you are signing that you understand and will abide by the California labor laws), and that they learn to be good stewards of their child’s money. That means not paying for something you can get for free.

Things to note about the paper application process include:

  • Must be accompanied with a SASE for return.
  • Permit, if issued, will be processed and mailed within 3 business days. Depending on the DLSE work load (heaviest in January and June), it can take several weeks.
  • For information provided by the school counselor, teacher (not an attendance clerk or secretary) be certain that THEY indicate their title next to the signature. This has become a messy area lately. so avoid the confusion and follow that guideline. Homeschooled families can expect to get extra scrutiny–make sure your paperwork is in order. If you have an R-4 Affidavit, consider sending it in with your renewal.
  • Note requirements for physicians indicating information about infants 15 days or less. Older children do not need a physical.
  • Attach a copy of the old permit.

Requirements for keeping a work permit valid:

California law mandates that a work permit will be considered invalid if, within 10 days of issuance, a true and accurate copy of a Trustee Statement indicating the existence of a proper Coogan Blocked Trust Account is not attached. Enforcement of this continues to be hit and miss. However, the permits issued now have the following language printed ON them.

Pursuant of California Labor Code Section 1308.9 (a). with respect to the employment of a minor under a contract described in Section 6750 of California Family Code, this permit shall be void after the expiration of 10 business days from the date hereof unless it is attached to a true and correct dopy of the trustee’s statement evidencing the establishment of a “Coogan Trust Account” for the benefit of the minor named herein.

Parents will need to be prepared for what might potentially happen at the workplace, and be able to comply with this requirement.

See a sample of a Trustee Statement (including the information required to be on it by law) here: Statement of Trustee Sample (PDF)





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *