2015 IIHS TOP SAFETY PICKs #morgan #cars

#safest cars

Top Safety Pick s by year

IIHS conducts vehicle tests to determine crashworthiness — how well a vehicle protects its occupants in a crash. It also rates vehicles for front crash prevention, systems that warn the driver or brake automatically to avoid or mitigate a frontal collision. The vehicles that perform best in the tests qualify for Top Safety Pick. which has been awarded since the 2006 model year, or Top Safety Pick+. which was inaugurated in 2013.

To qualify for 2015 Top Safety Pick. a vehicle must earn good ratings in the moderate overlap front, side, roof strength and head restraint tests, as well as a good or acceptable rating in the small overlap front test.

To qualify for 2015 Top Safety Pick +. a vehicle must meet the Top Safety Pick criteria, plus earn an advanced or superior rating for front crash prevention. Top Safety Pick + winners with optional front crash prevention qualify for the higher award only when equipped with the technology. However when not equipped, they still meet the criteria for Top Safety Pick .

Models that earn Top Safety Pick + or Top Safety Pick are the best vehicle choices for safety within size categories. Size and weight influence occupant protection in serious crashes. Larger, heavier vehicles generally afford more protection than smaller, lighter ones. Thus, a small car that’s a Top Safety Pick + or Top Safety Pick doesn’t necessarily afford more protection than a bigger car that doesn’t earn the award.

indicates a Top Safety Pick + winner

indicates a Top Safety Pick winner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.